Make your own free website on

Send a mail to lathish
send me 

L@thish on the net

Sign guest book of Lathish
View / Sign
Guest Book

Visit my Home page at VSNL If you are browsing from India, it is faster and no AD banners

Lathish P V

Guest Book
E-Mail me
My family
My Photo
My Hobbies
My Teachers
Contact me


KSEB Tel.numbers

Malayalam songs
Favorite Leaders
Malayalam MP3
Friend's Homes HTML Tips
Media and TV

Kerala State Electricity Board (KSEB)
Everything about KSEB

Electricity came to India in the year 1886. A comprehensive Act relating to electricity was enacted only in the year 1910, which is known as Indian Electricity Act 1910. State Electricity Boards are were formed by virtue of section 5 of Electricity (Supply) Act 1948. KSE Board comes under Southern Region Electricity Board ( SERB) with headquarters at Bangalore. KSE Board issued the regulations and published a booklet entitled " Conditions of supply of Electrical Energy". Board revised the regulations in 1989.

System Operation

Under co-ordination of southern region electricity Boards Kerala system is operated. The following feeders act as major tie lines.
1. Thrissur-Udumalpet 400KV DC
2. Sabarigiri-Madurai 220 KV SC
3. Edamon-Kayathar 220 KV SC
4. Idukki-Udumalpet 220 KV SC
5. Kaniampetta-Mysore 220 KV SC

Electricity Tariff
In power distribution costing and pricing is really complex on account of various factors such as statutory constraints, social obligations and nature of product.
In KSEB tariff is classified as follows
1. EHT
2. HT -I,  HT-II , HT-III, HT-IV
3. Grid Tariff
4. LT tariffs 
    a. LT-Ia, LT-Ib Domestic 
    b. LT-II, LT-III
    c. LT-IV Industrial
    d. LT-V Agricultural
    e. LT-VI , LT VII Commercial
    f.  LT-VIII Temporary

Achievements in last five Years

Mr. Pinarayi vijayan as an electricity mister of Kerala restructured the entire power scenario of the state. Kerala is the only state in south India without power cut. Load shedding will be withdrawn by the end of 2000.     
1. Added 876 MW to the system
2. More than 3 lakhs service connections
3. 258 substations under construction including 110 KV substation at Pinarayi
4. Up-to-date voltage improvement programmes in electricity distribution 
5. Lowest tariff in south India

Kerala Power System
Installed Capacity 2482.7MW
      a. KSEB 1981.6MW
      b. NTPC 359.5MW
      c. Private 141.6MW
Generating Stations 23
      a. Hydro-electric 18 (17-KSEB)
      b. Thermal 2
      c. Diesel 2
      d. Non conventional 1
Maximum Demand KSEB alone 1663.6MW
          Including Import 1953.8MW
Total Consumption 10964.4389MU
Per capita consumption 359.5KWH
Sub stations
       a. 400KV 1
       b. 220KV 11
       c. 110KV 68
       d. 66KV 105
No. of villages electrified 1364
Total connected load in MW 7275MW
No. of distribution circles 19
No. of distribution divisions 53
No. of distribution major sections 298
No. of distribution sections 216

Generating stations and capacity

Station No. of machines & MW capacity Total Capacity MW
Pallivasal 3x5, 3x7.5 37.5
Sengulam 4x12 48.0
Poringal Kuthu 4x8 32.0
Neriamangalam 3x15 45.0
Panniar 2x15 30.0
Sabarigiri (Moozhiyar) 6x50 300.0
Sholayar 3x18 54.0
Kuttiyadi 3x25 75.0
Idukki (Moolamattom) 6x130 780.0
Idamalayar 2x37.5 75.0
Kallada 2x7.5 15.0
Kanjikode (wind farm) 9x0.225 2.025
Peppara 1x3 3.0
Lower periyar (Karimanal) 3x60 180
Brahmapuram Diesel 5x21.32 106.6
Maduppatty 1x2 2.0
Poringal left bank 1x16 16.0
kakkad 2x25 50.0
Malampuzha 1x2.5 2.5
Kozhikkode Diesel 128.0
Maniar (Private) 4x3 12.0
Kayamkulam (NTPC) 359.5
Kochi (BSES) 129.6